Question regarding backup setting, and other things

ScarySulley
ScarySulley
Community Member

I'm trying out 1Password 3 for Mac and under the preferences > backup, it gives you the option of how often to backup (Day, Week, and Month) and to keep backup files (All, 10, 50, or 100). I'm assuming by "backup files" they mean the actual backup files. It says "if data was changed" above the how many backup files to keep. To test, I kept changing the password of a login until I go to at least 10 files. Well it went past 10 even though I put "10" as an option.

Can anyone please provide any insight as to what this setting is? I'm new 1Password, so I'm still learning!

Thanks!

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @ScarySulley,

Thanks for testing out 1Password! I hope you're enjoying it so far :)

I can't quite tell you why 1Password is initially saving more than 10 backups. I tested it here and I'm seeing the same thing. But I did notice that it cleaned up those extras after I re-started my system. So you don't need to worry too much about an excess of backups filling up your computer, as long as you restart the computer every once in a while. Please note as well, that you can go into that folder and manually remove the backups if you think there are too many. I wouldn't recommend deleting too many backups though - I can't tell you how many times I've had to help a user restore from a backup, it has saved a lot of people.

Please let me know if you have any further questions - we're here to help!

• ScarySulley
    ScarySulley
    Community Member

Thanks for very informative reply Megan.

I'll test it some more, but that setting is referring to how many backup files it'll keep if changes are made. That answers my question then.

While I'm here, I have some more questions:

1) In the Store section of your website, I only see licenses for 1Password for Mac. How would I go about getting one for 1Password 3 and how much is it?