Cmd + \

brockangelo
brockangelo
Community Member

So I've been using 1Password for a couple of years now. And then I saw a photo of all of the staff wearing a t-shirt that said, wait, what?? "Cmd+\ is my password"??? And my thought process was kind of embarrassing:

• that's cool. I wonder how they all do that.
  • wait, they all work for 1Password...
  • maybe there's something to this...
  • some kind of hidden easter egg??
  • goes to the 1password website, actually reads documentation

• ... there was a long pause as I realized I'd not been using what is likely the best feature

• ... pause continues

I've been using Cmd+\ now for the past couple of months and I just have to laugh. How did I miss this??!!

So I just wanted to stop by and say that this should be the number one advertised feature - at the top of the screen - an intro email that says "you do know that you can use Cmd + \ on ANY website now..." because its just criminal how well this works only to realize I've been doing it wrong FOR YEARS. But thinking back, I remember all of my other co-workers fumbling around with the chrome extension or pulling up the app and manually copying and pasting, so I know I'm not alone.

Love and thanks!

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    edited February 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words (and for taking the time to share them and this very helpful tip with the world)! :)

Knowing that not every user is a power user we try to make the keyboard shortcuts discoverable without being in-your-face. You can even customize the most used ones (including ⌘\ which you mention above) on 1Password's General preference pane:

But let's not think of the horrible past. You'll just be more productive from here on out. You might even want to help spread the word by sporting a nice t-shirt. ;)