Thoughts on Multiple Vaults

Megan
Megan
1Password Alumni
This discussion was created from comments split from: 1Password 4.5: Dropbox Sync requires set-up.

Comments

• PeteTh
    PeteTh
    Community Member
    edited April 2014

@Megan‌ @MrRooni‌
    I'm quite new to 1Password, only purchased this weekend, but I have been considering it for years!

Anyway my initial observation regarding the issue described in this post is : We have 2 iPads in our house which various family members use, and obviously iPads don't support multiple user profiles. So I recently set up one of the iPads with a 'new user' with an Empty Vault, then used 'Add Vault' to add the vaults we may need access to on that iPad e.g 'Family Vault' and 'My wifes Vault' and 'my daughters', and finally 'mine'. Now this is great as we can switch vaults and get access to each as needed.

But I don't want my daughter to get access to my vault unless, I specifically log into my Vault for her (for a limited period of time). Currently anyone who can access the Primary Vault (the empty one) automatically gets access to all our Vaults. I definitely don't want this.

To me the simple thing that is missing is :

• When you change 'Vaults' it should request the 'Master Password' for that Vault, only if you know it do you gain access. That then becomes your current vault, and can be locked if need be.

In this way we could access all our Vaults on the iPad, but only if you know the password of that Vault. You may then lock that Vault to stop others using.

This would be rather similar to 1Password Mini on the Mac, which does allow you to click the Vault Symbol to log into a different Vault. Where as the 1Password the Mac Application - always seems to want to know your Primary Vault's password - then shows all Vaults - again without prompting for the Master Password of each Vault.

So in summary I think the Mini App has the best way of working.

• FreemanD
    FreemanD
    Community Member