Security measures that can be added?

cypro
cypro
Community Member
edited January 2014 in Mac

Hello to the comunity.
1Password Is perfect, I love it! And as a programmer, I want to suggest some security measures that can be added.
1) While some users has 1Password on many devices (Mac/Windows, iPhone/iPad, Android) any of these devices can be stolen. So may the thief can take control of password. So it would be a good idea to set some "wrong-password-attempts" that when a user enter 5-10 times wrong password, evreything included the encrypted file to be deleted.
If user choose this option, the 1password will notify the user, to make backups to external devices or cloud.
2) A usb device holding a unique password, that will be used as a 2-step-verification for computers only.
Cheers.

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @cypro,

Welcome to the forums! Thanks so much for the kind words - it's always so great to hear from happy users.

1) While some users has 1Password on many devices (Mac/Windows, iPhone/iPad, Android) any of these devices can be stolen. So may the thief can take control of password. So it would be a good idea to set some "wrong-password-attempts" that when a user enter 5-10 times wrong password, evreything included the encrypted file to be deleted. If user choose this option, the 1password will notify the user, to make backups to external devices or cloud.

This sounds like an intriguing suggestion - I'll pass this on to our developers to see if we can find a way to integrate it! It brings up a good point though: the strongest protection for your database is a strong Master Password. We've got a great article on how to create passwords that are both strong and fairly easy to remember/type: Towards Better Master Passwords.

2) A usb device holding a unique password, that will be used as a 2-step-verification for computers only.