[Feature proposal] - Temporarely sharing of one specific password via wifi

Options
dahanbn
dahanbn
Community Member

Hi,

I am pretty new to the beta testing of 1Password. I do use the stable app for quite a while and I think I have an interesting suggestion to make 1Password on iOS even more awesome. :-) I hope you will like it.

At work I work in a Windows only environment and there we use a different password manager with a strong business focus (multi user password databases on a dedicated server with various access levels and seals, and so on). That product has also a good mobile companion app. Overall I would say that their app is not so polished than 1Password but I think they have one outstanding feature: airPass

airPass/wifi Pass - is an easy and secure way to access one specific password over wifi

Scenario description

If you are with your iOS dive in a wifi lan than you could share single password entries from 1Password via an encrypted HTML file. You can access those with a browser that is connected to the device. It is read-only access.

You use an Internet connected device (e.g. PC) that is not yours. There you have full internet access but usually no access to your 1Password application. One solution would be to connect to your Dropbox account and use 1Password Anywhere. But if you do not trust the Internet connected device enough to type your password in than airPass could be a solution. To use it you would need your iOS 1Password app and your iOS device must be in the same wifie than the Internet connected device. If that is true than 1Password on your iOS device could act as a http-server and let you access the currently viewed login information in via the browser. You do not have to type in your Dropbox or 1Password passphrase on the untrusted device. You need only a PIN code that is generated from 1Password on iOS for the current airPass session. That pin will be only once valid.

Use case in detail