Need Help With Setup

Options
randym
randym
Community Member

I'm new to 1Password and have it set up on my and my wife's Macs and iPads. We need to set up a shared vault. I've read the guide to share a non-primary vault and some other threads, but still need input.

If possible, I'm wondering about two options ...

1. Share the primary vault and set up folders: me, my wife, etc. If we go this route, how would we sync (two Dropbox accounts for the Macs)? How would we sync with our iPads (is iCloud an option)? This option might be overkill (i.e., we'd be sharing items we wouldn't have to), but it seems easier to manage. (I think I'd prefer the option to share a folder within the primary vault.)

2. Set up a shared non-primary vault. But, unless I'm missing something I don't really like this option. I can only sync the primary vault with the iPad, right? If so, then I'd need to leave all items (including shared items) in the primary vault so that they're available on the iPad. But wouldn't that be more difficult to keep in sync—i.e., if changes are made in one place, (primary or shared) they won't automatically carry over to the other vault, is that right?

Am I missing anything? Are both of these options? Are there other options?

Thanks!

Comments

• randym
    randym
    Community Member
    Options

In case this question got lost in the mix, I'd still appreciate the help! :-)

• MikeT
    Options

Hi @randym,

Thanks for writing in!

Share the primary vault and set up folders: me, my wife, etc. If we go this route, how would we sync (two Dropbox accounts for the Macs)?