My one regret with 1Password

prime
prime
Community Member

When I got this app I looked for a while on password managers. iCloud Keychain came out and I figured I would wait, but liked the stuff 1Password had to offer. I bought it one day and when it had me set up my master password, I used one I knew I never used before. It's long to most people, but I feel it could be longer and more secured. I thought about changing it, but I read that it's not a good idea so I didn't. I saw a post here on how to export my info, change my password, and then import it again (forgot where). It didn't look that hard and I might do it someday when I have time.

So that is my only regret, so maybe it will be easier to change my master password in the future?

Comments

• Fairgame
    Fairgame
    Community Member

Hi, I'm no expert on this.
    But my understanding of the issue with changing the master password is that it has to do more with encryption and decryption then 1Password software setup.

There are several posts about difference between authentication and decryption. Personally I would also prefer to just change the master password and render the old one old. But that is not how that works. I can live with that knowing some of the technical reason behind it.

• RichardPayne
    RichardPayne
    Community Member

Why do you think that it is not a good idea to change it?

There should be no problem. The only caveat to that is that you may need to change it on each device that you use.

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @prime,

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts here! You're right, changing your Master Password does not re-encrypt your database. This is why we suggest that you pick a strong Master Password when you start using 1Password, and then stick with it. Khad has a great discussion on this topic here.

If you do want to re-encrypt the database, you'll need to export and then import into a fresh vault with the new Master Password. :)

• prime
    prime