Bash security flaw

nzdoc
nzdoc
Community Member

I am no computer pro so please excuse the ignorance.

But does this Bash issue affect 1password or is it Mac wide?

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-09-25/u-s-warns-of-security-flaw-affecting-linux-to-mac.html

Thanks

Comments

• Shellshock is something to be worried about but not really in terms of 1Password based on my readings so far.

The systems most at risk just now, that is to say the ones that will probably get targeted first are web servers or embedded devices that run mini web servers e.g. routers, NAS devices etc. It requires the use of something called cgi-bin (web servers aren't a speciality of mine) but at that point yeah, a system has the potential to be compromised.

I've heard mention of bash + open ssh being a possible vector too but that seems to be after somebody has successfully authenticated.

So where does the average mac user stand? If you're dealing with a fresh installation of Mavericks then I believe OS X won't be running a copy of apache. Prior to Mavericks web sharing was something you could activate at which point it would all depend on the default setup as to how at risk you were. Open a browser and visit http://127.0.0.1 If you get a page that says It works! then apache is running. I know it is on mine but I think that's a leftover from my config in Snow Leopard. Excuse me while I go figure out how to permanently turn it off given the GUI option was removed :-S

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni

1Password itself is not in anyway affected by the bash bug. We are still checking our servers to see if anything uses bash, but haven't found anything vulnerable yet. Other sites may well be vulnerable and may ask people to change passwords at some point.

• jpgoldberg
    jpgoldberg
    1Password Alumni

You ask a great question @nzdoc, and @littlebobbytables‌'s explanation is exactly on target.

1Password and AgileBits are safe from shellshock (bash bug)