Importing from Dashlane -- for a non-techie

Elizabeth Meister
Elizabeth Meister
Community Member

Hi, I'm interested in moving to 1Password BUT I don't want a huge hassle as I migrate things from Dashlane. I am not a techie and when I look at previous discussion posts here about how to get my info into 1Password, my eyes glaze over and I feel total defeat before I even start. Is there any clear, idiot-proof step by step explanation of how to generate the appropriate data file for 1Password? Thanks.

Comments

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator

There are basically 3 steps:

1. Export Dashlane's data as CSV (text file)
    2. Convert that file to a format that 1P4 can read
    3. Import the converted file(s)

Do you know how to do Step 1?

• Mel Burstein
    Mel Burstein
    Community Member

I am switching from Dashlane (Premium) to 1Password 4. I installed the Beta version of 1Password because I am running OS 10.10 (PB2 Yosemite). Now, I am looking for an easy way to import my data. Is a CVS file the way to go? I so, when I export from Dashlane to a CVS file will the values be in the sequence they need to be in? What are the rules for formatting the CVS file? Or if CVS is not my best option, what is?

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member

There is quite a long thread here on importing from Dashlane, with a number of suggestions.

Stephen

• Mel Burstein
    Mel Burstein
    Community Member

I am trying to do this too. I did Step 1, but do not know what I have to do in Step 2. Help.

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator

Hi Mel,

Unfortunately, Dashlane has a very poor CSV exporter. It has the following problems:

1. It varies the number of columns based on the item type (Login, Note, Credit Card), and this is non-standard. The CSV should have the same number of columns for all the rows.

2. It does not export all data to the CSV - some data is simply missing from the export.