Procedure to update weak passwords

lbdina
lbdina
Community Member

I'm new to 1P, on a Mac (plus iPad and iPhone). Many of my passwords are weak and need to be changed, and many of my websites use the identical password. I don't mind changing them one at a time, but I haven't tried yet because I don't want to screw up and get locked out of some of my websites.

Can the password generator in 1P generate a new password, log in, change my password, then remember the new password? I'd rather use the PW generator than have to make up dozens of long, complicated passwords on my own. Do you have a step by step procedure to show me how to upgrade and save my passwords in the easiest and most effective manner? I have some of my old, weak passwords saved in 1P presently, but not all of them. So, I'd love a procedure on updating and changing passwords already stored in 1P, plus one on how to create new passwords as new entries in 1P. Hope that made sense.

Got a link to the procedure to do this, or any advice?

Thanks, Lou

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member

The basic answer to:

Can the password generator in 1P generate a new password, log in, change my password, then remember the new password?

is "Yes". There's a really helpful knowledge base article on updating the password for a site. If you follow that carefully you should find it works perfectly.

Do post back if you have any problems though.

Stephen

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    edited April 2014

I've just changed lots of my passwords in response to the Heartbleed issue. Here is what I did for the ones I have in 1Password already. Unfortunately, you will need to visit each web site individually and follow whatever process each requires to update a password. There is lots of variation ion my recent experience.