1Password for multiple computers possible? Causing browser extension issue (Windows 8, Chrome)

Hello :)

I'm new to 1Password so sorry if asking a "stupid" question. But here we go:

I have one desktop computer and one laptop computer both running Windows
I also have an iPhone.
I purchased the license inside the iOS app and also downloaded and purchased the license for the Windows application.
I set up a vault and sharing via Dropbox. (Works like magic - very happy!).

I installed the Windows software on the desktop computer and on that I also installed the browser extension.
It works fine :)

Problem now is on my laptop computer as soon as I start Google Chrome there, I get an error message from the browser extension on that.
Is reads "Looking for the 1Password helper. The 1Password helper must be running for the extension to work properly."

So my question is this, can I/should I install the same Windows app on also the notebook in order for the browser extension to work also on the laptop?
Is that needed?

And will the same license key work for 2 active computer at the same time?

Is there a way to get browser extension to work on a different computer without the "full" suite of Windows app on that computer also?

Thinking it might cause issues to have even one more device running a full version of my vault, syncing that also needs to be setup again to dropbox etc... ?

Any one else who run in to this issue?

Thank you kindly
Per

Comments

• RichardPayne
    RichardPayne
    Community Member

So my question is this, can I/should I install the same Windows app on also the notebook in order for the browser extension to work also on the laptop? Is that needed?

Yes

And will the same license key work for 2 active computer at the same time?

Yes

Is there a way to get browser extension to work on a different computer without the "full" suite of Windows app on that computer also?

No.