Converting item types

Hi,

I'm fairly new to 1password and am just finding my way around.

When I imported my items from my old password manager they all ended up as login items. It would be more appropriate for some of the items to be account items (for example). I was expecting to be able to select an item and have an option (e.g. via a right click) to convert it to another item type. Unless I am missing something, that does not seem to be possible. I am resorting to copying details from login items into a text file and then pasting this into new account items before finally deleting the login item. Quite laborious and tedious.

So, my question is, am I missing something?

Thanks.

Comments

• DBrown
    DBrown
    1Password Alumni
    edited February 2011
    omzaz, welcome to the forum!

You're not missing anything, but 1Password currently is: the ability to "move" items from one vault to another. The vaults represent item types, and in the current implementation, different item types have very different characteristics, so we're not able to change an item's type—it's integral to its definition.

We do plan to improve this situation and add various customization options in future releases of all our 1Password products, but there's no information about exactly what features might be implemented, how they might work, or when they become available.

We apologize for inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Related note: 1Password for Windows currently imports only Logins. I hope that will change in a future release, as well.
  • Also need similar feature.

I have imported about 3 thousands of non-login data (SW licenses, notes & etc.). I understand that not possible to convert all data automatically, but usual preserving off all text data and changing Type to Wallet/Software/Note will be very useful.
  • DBrown
    DBrown
    1Password Alumni
    Welcome to the forum, EIKA, and thanks for your comment!
  • EIKA
    edited July 2011
    Dear Agile guys,