New user iphone 6 plus does not see mac when wifi sync

huynhmama
huynhmama
Community Member

I have searched the forum for the past 2 hours, but I am having trouble understanding what I need to do. I bought 1Password 5.3 for mac from the apple store yesterday. I set up a couple of logins. I tried it out and it works. :) Today, I downloaded the 1Password ios 5.4.2 for my iphone 6plus. I would like to do wifi sync. When I first open the app, it asks to create a new vault or sync existing vault. I chose sync existing vault since I created one yesterday. Next page, I chose using wifi. I am not able to see my macbook pro listed on the wifi sync page. I read through many articles and tried many things. I think my biggest problem is I am not tech savvy and I really don't know what the articles are referring to. For example, if your firewall is on, make sure your let allow 1Password. There is no explanation on how to do that. I went to settings and my firewall is on. I see that it allows 1Password mini. How to you add 1Password? I even tried turning off my firewall, but I still don't see my mac on my iphone. So i tried something else, creating a new wifi as suggested. On the article, the created wifi requires a password, but when I tried to create mine, there is only Network name and Channel...no choice for password. Since I will be sending all data using this wifi, I don't want it to be an open wifi. Also what is this "secret" that some of the articles referring to. I don't see a "secret" page anywhere when I try to set up. Can someone help me with step by step instructions for non tech people like me? Pictures will be greatly appreciated.

1Password Version: 5.3
Extension Version: 4.3.1
OS Version: iOS 8.3, Safari 8.0.6
Sync Type: wifi

Comments

• huynhmama
    huynhmama
    Community Member

I did more research and tried the following...still unable to sync (does not see my mac on my iPhone)
    1. found out how to add 1Password to firewall - done