Auto generated password contains swear word

cpfusion
cpfusion
Community Member

Hi there,

Just been in the embarrassing situation of having to apologise to a client for sending out a 16 digit auto generated password of which the first four characters were F u c k.

Would it be possible to add in some way to incorporate possible character combinations, or stop words, which will never be included in a password?

I have been using 1Password for nearly 9 years and have never had this happen before, but I would like to make sure that it doesn't happen again if possible.

Hope you guys can help

Best,
Craig

1Password Version: 5.3.2
Extension Version: 4.4.0.8
OS Version: 10.10.3
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni

Hi @cpfusion,

Thanks for taking the time to contact us about that, and I'm very sorry to hear that happened! Although I can't make any promises, I can certainly let our developers know you'd like to have an option to block certain possible character combinations/words from appearing in the password generator.

To be honest, I've never heard of this happening before. Since the password generator generates random passwords, the chances of those specific characters appearing together in that specific order are incredibly small. Of course, it depends a bit on the settings you use in the password generator - if you have the "Pronounceable" option enabled, I suppose there's a slightly better chance something like that would happen. Personally, when I use the password generator, the "Pronounceable" option is almost always disabled, and digits and symbols are included, and as a result I don't think I've ever seen a real word included in one of those generated passwords. If you don't already use those settings, you might want to try them out.