Why can't 1Password M=mini on 2nd display where Safari's located??

Options
soundsgoodtome
soundsgoodtome
Community Member

I have dual, 30" displays, and Safari is always open on display 2. But when I invoke 1P mini, it opens in the middle of display 1—nowhere near Safari. It's so far away, in terms of the line of sight that I often don't even see it appear, especially if other windows are already open there.

I see other threads describing issues with 1P mini going back as far as 2012. Why is this so difficult? If the focused browser window is on display 2, 1Pm should always open there. Why is this such a problem? :-)

1Password Version: 5.1
Extension Version: 4.3.1
OS Version: 10.10.3
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @soundsgoodtome,

I'm sorry you're having trouble getting 1Password mini to appear on the second display! Now, I'm not a developer so I'm afraid I don't know the exact details, but my understanding is that there are various factors and situations which make this more complicated than it may seem.

There are a few odd issues with the position of 1Password mini that our developers are working on, but I noticed you said you're using 1Password version 5.1, which is a bit older at this point as there have been some updates since 5.1 was released last January. If you're using the Mac App Store version of 1Password 5, the latest update is 5.3. If you're using the AgileBits Store version, the latest update is 5.3.2. Please make sure you install the latest update - does that make any difference?

If not, can you please let us know a few more details:

• Do you invoke 1Password mini by clicking the extension icon in Safari, clicking the mini icon in the Mac menu bar, using the ⌘\ keyboard shortcut, or using the ⌥⌘\ keyboard shortcut?
    • Is Safari the current app when you open 1Password mini?
    • In System Preferences > Mission Control, is the option for "Displays have separate Spaces" enabled?