Understanding 1Password for newbie

zhl203
zhl203
Community Member

Hello,
I have just started using 1Password and as a newbie, I'm encountering many issues trying to set it up on my computer.
I have been searching through the forum but to no avail, so I decided to register this forum and post my questions here (this is my first ever post!).

I purchased the 1Password iOS app for the iPhone and I am currently using it on my iPhone.
Yesterday I added the 1Password chrome extension but kept getting the "helper" not working message. So I searched the forum and it seems that I have to install the 1Password PC app and need to change some kind of setting. So that led me to install the PC app.

When I open the 1Password PC app, it gave me 3 options: 1) I am new, 2) I have used before and 3) Restore from backup.

Since I have used 1Password on my iPhone, which option should I use? I tried clicking option #2 and #3 but it asked me to browse to the backup file. That leads to me the question, where can I find my backup file on my iPhone.

So I went to the iOS app and changed the Sync Service to Dropbox and then go to Advanced and hit "Create Backup," thinking that it will create the Backup File in my Dropbox folder, but I couldn't find it.

That's exactly the point I decided that I have to sign up this forum and ask these questions. Now when I signed up this forum, strange thing happened. So I decided to sign up using my Google account. At the Google sign-in page, all of a sudden, the 1Password extension popped up and asked in to type in my master password. So I entered my master password and now the Chrome extension is working! What is going on?