I use 3 different browsers. How can 1password populate the login regardless of what i use?

usawiwasu
usawiwasu
Community Member

I use multiple web browsers. I would like to have this program populate my login and password regardless of the browser I'm using. Currently if I click on a stored webpage it will always open whatever browser I used to create the original login. Facebook for example: i don't want to have to create 3 different links for each browser for the same site; I would like the utility to recognize where I'm at and populate.

This is my first try at this program, I have yet to purchase, but in my opinion; why have a download for each browser so 1password can be used if it's not intelligent enough to populate regardless of what browser i'm trying to access the site from.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:I use 3 different browsers. How can 1password populate the login regardless of what i use?

Comments

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member

@usawiwasu - If you click a URL in 1Password, it opens the default browser specified in your OS X setup. That's the same as any other application the presents a live link. However, if you open a browser and navigate to a web page, 1Password will fill your credentials if you have installed the 1Password extension for that browser.

The behavior you describe is a property of the OS.

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni

Hi @usawiwasu,

Hawkmoth's answer is spot-on: it doesn't matter which browser is used to create a Login item, as it will always open in your default web browser if you click on a URL in a Login item (or double-click the Login item in the main 1Password app). But if you want to open a Login item in a non-default browser, just install the 1Password extension in that browser. When you choose a Login item from the 1Password browser extension, it will open in that same browser.