Trying to set up Families

johnbeaty
johnbeaty
Community Member
edited March 2016 in Families

So, I have been using 1PW for a couple of years at this point. So has my wife, and our grown son. When multiple vaults became available, we added them, but they are not a great answer, as they do not update when the originals change. So I wanted to use Familes, and hoped I would love it like I love my regular 1PW.

Nope. Setup is really confusing (apparently you should use your existing 1PW password/phrase, but you don't know this until you read deeply into a hints doc), references to some features refer to Teams even when it includes Families, each family member has to have their own printed and stored key (which kind of defeats the purpose of a secure vault?), no indication of which icon refers to which version of 1PW (Both are 6.02, so why are they labeled differently?), so finding it in the Applications folder is a crap-shoot, no info about what happens to old 1PW when you move the info (is it still there? Will it update or will it wither like the shared vaults, what if you change something in solo 1PW?), as someone else mentioned, no way to change names of devices so no idea which devices have been upgraded without gathering them all together, no idea if the 1PW mini attaches to Families or original, ditto browser plugins. I can go on.

I'm sure some of this info is available in the forums, or in an administrator doc, or somewhere. But I'm not an administrator, I'm a father trying to keep us afloat, and this is way too much like another job.

Sorry folks, I wanted to like this. Maybe in a year or two?

1Password Version: 6.02 (
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.11.3
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Aleen
    Aleen
    1Password Alumni

Hi @johnbeaty!

Sorry for the delay in replying here; thanks for your patience with us :) You brought up a lot of great points, and I'm so glad you took the time to write to us. Let me see what I can do to help here!