arw
arw
Community Member

Guys, my feedback is that you really need to put in some more work to resolve the issue of the conflicts that arise depending on whether 1P is installed from the AgileBits website or the Apple Mac AppStore.

First, let me say that I'm a HIGHLY literate computer scientist, so I am not the average Mac user. so whatever I say you should multiply by 10 or something to realize the full impact on user experience for the average user.

I've been using 1P for a loooooooong time - so long, in fact, that I forgot where I first installed 1P from and how and where I've had to upgrade and where I installed it from.

I first realized that there was an issue perhaps 12-18 months ago when the first "update conflict" arose. I went to your support site and went through the manual process to deconflict the versions, from which I realized that I must have (at some point) downloaded/purchased 1P from the AppStore.

Since then I've had to do it at least three times, and I'm forever having issues with the Browser extensions "disappearing" or having to be reinstalled.

When I take the trouble to re-read the support instructions again, I "remember" why this is a problem and what I have to do to fix it, but my suggestion is that you shoot for a much higher standard: _Make the entire problem go away, please!

After all, if you can so clearly identify the problem via manual instructions, why not write some code to take care of it FOR me?

And then, there's this issue: Why not make it totally transparent to a customer whether they should deal with Apple or AgileBits? Yes, I know there are policies and things that might make it hard to ensure that both distribution channels behave identically, but, again, why don't YOU take this burden on instead of laying the responsibility on the consumer to understand? And, if you think about it, the best scenario is where the consumer could do either and end up with an identical result. Preferably for the same price, too.