Freezes when opening 1Password on a HP desktop

Options
This discussion was created from comments split from: Windows 10 crashing from 1password.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member
    Options

I know this is an old thread, but I'm having the same problem, except I am on an HP Desktop. There are no newer BIOS or drivers available. I can install 1Password, but then every 2nd or 3rd time I open it, it completely freezes my Windows 10 Enterprise PC. No event log message, no BSOD, just freezes. I have reinstalled a bunch of times, and even replaced the SSD drive thinking it might be vaguely related (I work in IT, so have a lot of spares lying around). Any clues? :(

• MikeT
    Options

Hi @andy_w,

I've split your post from the other thread because what you're describing is not the same problem or maybe you didn't include more information. The other thread is referring to getting blue screen of deaths with the ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY error.

System freeze isn't the same thing as the blue screen of death system crash.

Does the system unfreeze after a while or do you have to hard-reset the PC to regain control of it?

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member
    Options

Hi Mike,

It stays frozen - I have to power off and on to get it back up. Then, a few seconds after I have logged in to Windows, 50% of the time it will freeze as soon as the 1Password icon appears in the system tray, before I've had a chance to do anything else, and I will have to reboot a few times until I can uninstall 1Password again. I had hoped that the latest version released a few days ago would resolve the issue, but no luck!

I have it working fine on my laptop at home, which is also HP, with Windows 10 Enterprise.

Thanks,

Andy

• MikeT
    Options

Hi @andy_w,