iPhone password says incorrect, same PW as desktop, never changed PW

Options
itsthatredhead
itsthatredhead
Community Member

I have been attempting to enter my 1Password PW on my iphone app for several days, and it keeps telling me my PW is incorrect, although it is the exact same PW I've typed successfully into my desktop app multiple times. I've tried entering it multiple times, deleting and reinstalling the app, to no avail.
I'm new to 1Password and have never changed my master PW, and have verified that I'm pulling the same dropbox agile keychain. I even attempted to sync through wifi and it is still telling me the PW on my mobile device is inaccurate.

1Password Version: 4.6.0.604 desktop, 6.4.1 mobile
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Windows 7 | iOS 9.3.2
Sync Type: Dropbox & wifi

Comments

• nmott
    nmott
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@itsthatredhead oof, I can imagine how frustrating that is.

Do you by any chance have any special characters in your Master Password? And, are the input sources the same on both your desktop and your iPhone? Sometimes things get switched around, which can make what seems like the correct Master Password sometimes fail.

• itsthatredhead
    itsthatredhead
    Community Member
    edited May 2016
    Options

No special characters, alphanumeric only. What do you mean by input sources? @nmott

• nmott
    nmott
    1Password Alumni
    Options

It's how your devices interpret your keystrokes. So if I'm on my Mac I go to System Preferences > Keyboard > Input Sources and choose U.S. English. That tells OS X to interpret the keystrokes the way I, as a 'Murican, mean to type them. But if it were to get switched to another input, like French or something, it can create problems because the actual data is different even if the characters look the same.

Another thing to look out for on your iPhone is weird capitalization or spacing issues that can occur while you're typing a mix of characters.