Questions about establishing secure passwords

switters
switters
Community Member
edited June 2016 in Lounge

I've been using 1P for several years but not as rigorously as I should have been. I still have a lot of passwords that are combinations of letters and numbers that have personal meaning to me, and thus would be easier for password cracking programs to guess. These are mostly for things like Gmail, iCloud, iTunes store, and other services that require me to enter passwords regularly. Prior to the availability of TouchID, I resisted having to go over to 1P on my mobile devices and enter a long master password every time I needed to enter one of these passwords.

I'm just curious what AgileBits recommends for these kinds of passwords. I imagine I know the answer: use 1P go generate strong passwords for every password other than the master vault password, for maximum security. If that's the case, any tips on how to quickly access these passwords for regularly accessed services like Gmail, iCloud, iTunes store, etc.?

Second, is there a way to search a 1P vault for weak passwords? i.e. can I establish the criteria I want to define for strong passwords, and then search for all passwords that don't meet those criteria so I can change them?

1Password Version: 6.3
Extension Version: 4.5.6.90
OS Version: 10.11.5
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Pilar
    Pilar
    1Password Alumni

Hi @switters,

Thank you for contacting us with this very good question! It's never too late to improve the security of all your accounts. I'm going to move it to our Lounge category, I hope you don't mind :chuffed: