Accessing 1Password on public computers [not recommended]

This discussion was created from comments split from: Opera 42 and 1Password 6 [will be supported in 6.2.328d beta].

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

I gave up on that matter and uninstalled everything and re-installed 1password and Opera, but no extension this time. Since you both seem to be knowledgeable about 1Password, cause to this day I still hesitate about becoming a full member...

@orbitalfenestra: I understand completely. We'll get the digital signature for Opera 42 and above in 1Password as soon as we can. Thanks for your patience.

Situation: I am a student and unfortunately I often need to use their public computers. Until then everything worked well... but then I needed to connect to my facebook and gmail accounts to realise that.. I am screwed! How can I make this work without creating weaknesses in my passwords? Shouldn't 1Passwork propose something for people like me?

This is really a whole other discussion, so feel free to start another and we can go more in depth. But I did want to mention that we really want to discourage accessing sensitive information on untrusted machines. I understand that it would be more convenient to use a public computer at times, but it is also a convenient way for someone malicious or mischievous to collect information from those who use it. This is a big part of why we offer the mobile apps as a free download with an in-app purchase, even though this is inconvenient in some ways: so that folks can access their data on the go on a trusted device. And it isn't available everywhere yet, but most current versions of 1Password support the Wordlist option for password generation, which makes it easy to create a strong, random password that is easy to read and enter manually for accounts where this is important.