paypal won't auto fill in passwords generated by pword generator

Options

I am new to 1password, I tried to use the password generator tonight with paypal, it would not accept the auto fill, it would allow me to copy and paste but after I saved the new auto generated password in paypal and updated it in 1password and tried to re login with the new auto generated password, i get an error tell me the password doesn't work. help.

1Password Version: 6.5.2
Extension Version: 4.6.2
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:paypal

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited December 2016
    Options

@atoxley: It sounds like PayPal may have accepted the full generated password when you changed it, but perhaps it won't accept a password of that length for logging in.

I just went through and changed my own PayPal account password, and while there are no clear password requirements stated as far as I can see (though I did find some information, along with some terrible password advice, in their help section), the password change form would not accept a password longer than 20 characters. Is the one you saved in 1Password 21 or more?

• Nariman27
    Nariman27
    Community Member
    Options

I believe the issue is this: PayPal's login form seem to have some new sensitivity to automated entry via any password manager or the copy/paste of passwords into the login form. Super simple to reproduce: if you type out the password character by character (from your 1Password vault), it accepts the login just fine. If you copy/paste the same password or use a browser extension to populate it, it's rejected. Have seen this in other places. Perhaps 1Password needs to evolve to support the 'natural typing' of passwords to overcome this?

• jxpx777
    jxpx777
    1Password Alumni
    Options