Suggestions to improve on the 1Password 6 program

mnmr
mnmr
Community Member
edited January 2017 in 1Password 4 for Windows

I've been using 1Password for quite a few years by now, but have only recently switched to the new subscription plan and v6 of the desktop software. Sadly, it's been a major disappointment.

You'd think the software would improve, look nicer, get smarter and do more as time goes by - but instead I found that the reverse seems to be the case. It's less smart, even more annoying (yes, 1Password on Windows has always been quite bad), still ugly (albeit differently so than the older client) and basically a pain to use. Let me elaborate on all of that.

General usability issues:

• It happily creates and shows entries with just a password (no username), usually created if you use a "forgot password" page. No smartness to query for the additional information before saving, and nothing to hint that the record is incomplete when browsing logins.
  • Many sites move their login pages when they redesign or allow you to login on any page. 1Password copes poorly with this - it basically thinks you have no logins for the site. It could at least suggest logins with a matching domain.
  • If on a payment page and you open the 1Password window, it just gives you the search dialog. No smartness to know that I probably need to pick a credit card to fill the form. Very tedious to use. Try it out on your very own payment page.

Popup and tray windows:

• There is no category filter available, which forces you to ALWAYS use keyboard search. It's good that search is across categories but bad that you MUST use it to get anywhere. If I've activated the tray icon, I have the mouse in my hand - don't force me to switch to the keyboard to search, then back to mouse to right-click. I get a headache just from typing out how bad interaction design this is.