10 character *minimum* on master password?

familycantuse
familycantuse
Community Member
edited February 2017 in Families

I'm a full stack web developer...I understand that short passwords are not secure against brute force attacks. That said, I'm dumbfounded that there is a required ten character minimum on master passwords. Because of this 10 character requirement, I'm going to have to choose (insert name of 1password competitor here) instead of 1password.

Nobody on the planet is going to try and brute force my 9 year old daughter's master password. If she, or I for that matter, want to make her master password "kitty3" so that it's easy for her to remember then that should be fine. I don't understand the logic in 1password absolutely requiring a 10 character minimum. A big red warning "this master password is very insecure! you should use at least 10 characters!" sure, I can understand that. But 99.99% of the population is never going to have to worry about brute force (and I'm sure 1password has great brute force protection anyway, right?)

I understand you all at 1password want to make the internet more secure, and that's great. But by not making your password manager accessible it would seem you're doing the opposite?

Rant over (...and now I'm off to (insert name of 1password competitor here))

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• prime
    prime
    Community Member
    edited February 2017

Anything under 10 characters is bad. There are so many ways a kid can remember a master password.
    Elmo-is-purple2
    Big-truck-3.dad

If you get 1Password for families, you can recover her account too if your child forgets their password.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited February 2017