New Product Request: 1Password for Linux [In Progress]

Options

Comments

• L0j1k
    L0j1k
    Community Member
    edited March 2017
    Options

I mean... "When it's ready" isn't a bad answer. I've been a programmer for twenty years, so I really understand it. But are we looking at a handful of days? A handful of weeks? A handful of months? Longer? It doesn't seem like there is some kind of API that would allow me to write my own client, is that right?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@L0j1k: We don't currently have a public API, but it's something some companies have been asking for. It may be something we can offer in the future, and perhaps the CLI app can be used as a step towards that. I'm sorry I don't have a specific timeline for you. There are a lot of different elements involved, so it's impossible to predict. Frankly, this is why we typically don't talk about these things until they're ready for release. :tongue:

• rek2
    rek2
    Community Member
    Options

Please my company just moved to 1password from lastpass but some of us in are bump that there is no linux support in 2017!!! when most if not all apps have support! even there are 5K games on linux thanks to steam.. what is the hold up? are you guys in 2005?

• Ben
    Options

Hi @rek2

We're in the process of building a command line interface that'll be available on Linux.

Thanks!

Ben

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

I dunno. If "most if not all apps" were available for Linux, I might consider using it full time. ;)

• Manaburner
    Manaburner
    Community Member
    Options

@brenty Yes, I run Adobe Photoshop and Microsoft Office natively on my Linux box all the time ;)
    Jokes aside.

@rek2 Instead of being "mad" at AgileBits, I would rather ask your employer why they switch such an essential piece of software without assessing if everyone could run it.