Unable to access 1Password after reinstalling my Mac

Options
marion74
marion74
Community Member

Hello,
I have been using 1Password on my MacBook Pro since October 2015 with a licence purchased from the AgileBits store. I always use the 1Password Chrome extension.

Today I reinstalled my iOS and have since been unable to access my 1Password account. I have deleted and reinstalled the 1Password chrome extension. I have requested, received and applied my Licence information but I still get the same message from the extension: "Couldn't connect to 1Password".

I have tried using different versions of the 1Password app. I still get stuck on the same popup asking me to enter my account information.

But all I have is the Licence. I still have access to all the data on my old hard drive but couldn't find any files relating to 1Password - other than the app itself.

Could you help? I have a number of passwords stored under 1Password!!

Many thanks in advance,
Marion

1Password Version: 1 Password 6 (also tried with 1 Password 4)
Extension Version: 4.6.4.90
OS Version: OS X 10.10.5
Sync Type: ?

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @marion74,

I'm sorry you're having trouble with 1Password after reinstalling Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite). You described the problem that happens when you try to use the browser extension, but it sounds like that's probably because of the problem you're having with the main 1Password app. So I think the key to solving this is to sort out issues with the main app first.

I have tried using different versions of the 1Password app.

Do you mean version 4 and version 6, or do you mean you've tried installing the AgileBits Store version of the app as well as the Mac App Store version? If you purchased a license from our AgileBits Store, you'll need to use the version of the app available from our download site because the version available from the Mac App Store cannot read licenses from our web store.