Why does open and fill always open in default browser

Toon61
Toon61
Community Member

On my Mac, Safari is (still) my default browser. But as a web developer I also do a lot of work and testing in Chrome and Firefox.
When in Chrome or Firefox and using the 'Open and Fill' option these links are always opened in Safari (the default browser).
It would be very nice if Open and Fill uses the browser that is open and active at that time.

1Password Version: 6.5.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.10.5
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• ag_TJLuoma
    ag_TJLuoma
    1Password Alumni
    edited March 2017

Hi @Toon61

You're the second person to mention that this week, and I think it's a reasonable point that if you are in one browser and choose "Open and Fill" you'd expect it to open in that browser.

I'll mention this to the Mac developers.

Thanks for using 1Password!

TJ

ref: OPM-1413

• Toon61
    Toon61
    Community Member

Hi TJ,

Thanks, hoping to see it 'fixed' in a following update.

• ag_TJLuoma
    ag_TJLuoma
    1Password Alumni

Hey @Toon61

That seems like a reasonable request. Of course i can't promise if/when it will be fixed, but I'll definitely pass it on!

Tj

• jimbojones2000
    jimbojones2000
    Community Member

+1 for this. Was very surprised when I discovered this behaviour

• DougC
    DougC
    Community Member

Nice to see this is already being addressed. Very frustrating, especially when there are multiple URLs in a single login. Thanks!

• I agree that our behavior here doesn't seem right.

Rick

• newuser2017
    newuser2017
    Community Member