Diceware method vs generated master passwords

Adama_
Adama_
Community Member

Dear Team Agile,

Everyone is incredibly super-smart here, I am in awe! Please forgive my question, I am new to password security technology and it fascinates me :) I am also a new customer, so my question is:

I read about using a system called Diceware to generate a good master password. However, when I first created a password for 1Password, I used your own generator and memorised it (I hope this is not TMI! If so please edit or delete my post! :))

Which one is better?

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator

The password generator has a Words option, which is basically the same as diceware, but does the work for you.

It's largely a matter of personal preference, but a Words password could be too long for a particular site. Aslo, for a very few passwords (such as an iCloud password) one might want to be able to remember them independently of 1PW. In that case a Words password is fairly easy to remember.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@Adama_1pw: First of all, thanks for the kind words. We do our best to help any way we can, but I think best part is that you feel comfortable asking questions! We're lucky to have a great community here on the forums, and I think danco 's response exemplifies that. :chuffed:

But back to the question. While danco is correct, I did want to mention a few things here in case they're of help or of interest to you or anyone else.

Indeed, the Words options in the password generator uses what we call our "Wordlist", which we've curated in the spirit of Diceware™, but as that is a trademark and we saw some opportunities for improvement, we've made our own version.