Do you plan to drop standalone licensing completely?

I switched to 1Password a few years back and am very happy with the software.

From the answers I've seen on this forum however I understand you no longer offer standalone Windows licenses and you don't promote the availability of standalone Mac licenses either.

I object strongly to the subscription model for software licensing but am very supportive of paid upgrades across all platforms - I am a developer myself and of course want us all to get paid...

So a couple of questions I'd be grateful for answers to:

• Why is there no longer a standalone option for the Windows version of 1Password?
  • Is AgileBits committed to continuing to offer standalone purchasing options for future versions of 1Password?

Thanks for your time.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• BenBen AWS Team

Team Member

Hi @PaddyTB,

Why is there no longer a standalone option for the Windows version of 1Password?

1Password for Windows currently only has support for 1Password.com vaults, so it wouldn't make sense to sell a license for it. It wouldn't be able to do anything with it. We do plan to rectify that for 1Password 7 for Windows (more below).

Is AgileBits committed to continuing to offer standalone purchasing options for future versions of 1Password?

We have no plans to discontinue licensing options, and will have a licensing option for 1Password 7 for Windows:

AgileBits Blog | 1Password 6.7 for Windows: a feature buffet

From the post:

[...] so we’re happy to announce that standalone vaults will be an available entree on the menu in 1Password 7 for Windows. 1Password 7 will be free with your 1Password membership, but if memberships aren’t for you, paid licenses will also be available.

Thanks. :)

Ben

• PaddyTBPaddyTB
    edited September 2017