Purpose of Vaults - Vaults vs. Tags?

Options
AskAli
AskAli
Community Member
edited September 2017 in Mac

What's the purpose of vaults? I'm new to 1Password and I'm not sure when to use a tag and when to use vaults. The search command basically covers everything I need so I don't need too much organization but I'd like to organize my school-related logins and emails and I was curious whether to put them all in a separate vault called School or a tag called school?

What's the pros and cons of vaults vs. tags? I don't really get their intended purpose other than in family accounts where you can assign different people their own vaults, I have an individual account and vaults/tags almost seem like the same thing to me, it's like a folder.

P.S. I really wish we had a way to manage moving items in between vaults other than the Mac App, perhaps via the web browser or iOS app.

1Password Version: 6.8.1 (681006) AgileBits Store
Extension Version: 4.6.10
OS Version: macOS 10.12.6
Sync Type: 1Password.com

Comments

• @AskAli,

Vaults are separately encrypted containers that have different access passwords. So if you were to sync to an agile keychain or opvault you would be prompted for something other than your master password when you add that vault to another device. Some people want to separate personal from work items and want them to be encrypted/protected with a different password.

Tags are meant as an organizational tool to use inside of a vault. You'll probably want to just use Tags to label your school related things and only have a single vault.

Rudy

• AskAli
    AskAli
    Community Member
    edited September 2017
    Options

@rudy: Vaults have separate passwords? I tested by making a school vault and I still just use my master password. I would prefer everything to be under one password anyway. The less to remember the better.

I guess it’s really useful if I were using a families account.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options