To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Security of the 1password.com account creation process

manski
manski
Community Member

So, I'm a (senior) software developer myself. I'm not a security expert per se but I know the basic stuff pretty well, I guess.

At my job, I was involved in writing an end-to-end encrypted web chat. From that project I've learned that you cannot have an absolute air-tight end-to-end encryption with browsers because there is no way (that I know of) of cryptographically signing JavaScript code. So if an attacker could compromise the web server that's serving the JavaScript files for the web chat, he/she could change the JavaScript code so that it always sends a copy of all decrypted data to a hacker's server.

I'm suspecting that this is also true for the JavaScript code served via 1password.com. If an attacker could compromise the 1password.com web server(s), he/she could change the JavaScript code to silently grab all the secret keys and master passwords and post them to some hacker's server.

Usually this may not be a problem because a security cautious person could solely rely on the 1Password desktop apps (which are probably properly signed and thus trustworthy). However, the initial account creation process is (always?) done in a browser - and not in the desktop app. So I'm a little bit skeptical on how secure this process actually is.

It would be nice if you guys could shed some light onto this problem.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni