"Open and fill" + Firefox 57 Multi-Account Container Tabs

1Password's "Open And Fill" feature does not work as expected with the semi-official Firefox add-on Multi-Account Containers.

Expected: "open and fill" either opens in the current tab or creates a new tab in the same Multi-Account Container context as the currently-open tab.

Actual: "open and fill" opens a new tab in the default context (does not preserve the Multi-Account Container context).

Background: I am an admin on multiple AWS accounts. If you are not familiar with their login URL structure, IAM users have to go to a special URL to login (ex: https://.signin.console.aws.com/). I use Multi-Account Containers to be able to manage multiple AWS account simultaneously. Because of the long, specific, non-memorable nature of the AWS URLs, it makes sense to use Open and Fill to start the login process. However if these URLs always open in the default context, this scheme does not work very well.

The solution may be on the Multi-Account Container side, I leave that to you guys to figure out. ;)

https://github.com/mozilla/multi-account-containers/#readme

1Password Version: 1Password 6 Version 6.8.4 (684001) AgileBits Store
Extension Version: 4.6.12.90
OS Version: macOS 10.13.1 (17B48)
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• jxpx777
    jxpx777
    1Password Alumni

@crw That's really interesting! Somehow this flew under my radar. We will need to do some more research in order to fully understand how this works and how we can work with it. It might be a challenge since extensions operate in isolation from one another, so I can't promise it will be possible for us to integrate properly here.