Copy vs Move Items Between Vaults

mhosborn
mhosborn
Community Member

I'm just getting started using the Family subscription (and haven't yet added other family members, as I want time to become more comfortable with the app(s) before inviting others).

One question I have, though:

• When moving items from my Private vault to the Shared vault, is it better to copy them or move them? I seem to recall reading that if the items are copied from one vault to a different vault, then any changes made to that item (e.g. password changed) are only reflected in the copied item, not the original item. Obviously, this would pose a problem if one is relying on the original item's login information, wouldn't it?

Hoping you can help me understand this a bit better.

1Password Version: 6.8.4
Extension Version: 4.6.12
OS Version: OS X 10.13.1
Sync Type: 1PW

Comments

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni

Hi @mhosborn,

I'm just getting started using the Family subscription (and haven't yet added other family members, as I want time to become more comfortable with the app(s) before inviting others).

Glad to hear you've got your Family subscription started, that Megan was helping guide you through in email. :+1::chuffed:

If you haven't already seen it, here's a support article to help with inviting and sharing with others in your family:

Share 1Password with your family

When moving items from my Private vault to the Shared vault, is it better to copy them or move them?

Great question. That's up to you and it directly relates to what comes next:

I seem to recall reading that if the items are copied from one vault to a different vault, then any changes made to that item (e.g. password changed) are only reflected in the copied item, not the original item.