How to use on multiple devices - must I install it on each device?

Options
smilingscot72
smilingscot72
Community Member

I have 2 MacBook Pros, a MacBook Air, 2 iPads, 2 iPhones, and a desktop Mac Pro (soon to be replaced by a new iMac) - how should I proceed? It is already installed on my Mac Pro desktop. Thanks, Ken Stewart

1Password Version: Version 6.8.5
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac High Sierra
Sync Type: ?
Referrer: forum-search:How to use on multiple devices - must I install it on each device?

Comments

• AlwaysSortaCurious
    AlwaysSortaCurious
    Community Member
    Options

I have a 1password subscription, and thats exactly how i did it. Installed on every device, mobile, desktop, and laptop. Or you can open a browser on each, enter your secret key, and let that handle it, but the apps are better if you can install them (vs a system where you are not allowed to. The browser works best). Dont forget to backup your secret key!

So, must? No. Is it sensible, yes.

• Jacob
    edited January 2018
    Options

Hi @smilingscot72! The best way to get things set up on your other devices would indeed be what AlwaysSortaCurious mentioned above: a 1Password account. 1Password accounts automatically sync your data. They also give you access to all the 1Password apps through a subscription, and your passwords are automatically backed up if you need to access them later. You can even sign in to your account from 1Password.com in a browser. And of course there's more, but I won't go into all the good stuff here as it'd get a bit long. Sign up for an account to kick things off: https://start.1password.com

You can use the same Master Password you have now :)

After you sign up, let's move your existing data from your original device to your new account:

Move your existing 1Password data to a 1Password account