Migration and/or syncing issues

Caseof8
Caseof8
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years and loved it. I noticed a few months ago that my iOS device and MacOS device were no longer in sync. I had been using Dropbox to sync and although the file in Dropbox looked to be the same on both devices I have different item counts.

I have been excited to try a Family account to help stop all the "What is the password again?" from everyone in my family. Earlier this week I signed up and migrated the MacOS device database to 1Password Families account. This is were I am at right now.

On MacOS device
Primary database 563 items
Private database 566 items

on iOS device
Primary database 554 items
Private database 566 items

I think the Private database is the correct on both devices. Before I delete the old vaults I want to make sure I do not loose any information.

How do I sync and make sure the Primary database on both the MacOS and iOS device is synced and merged into the Private database?

1Password Version: 6.8.6 & iOS 7.0.5
Extension Version: 4.6.12
OS Version: 10.13.3 & iOS 11.2.5
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni

Welcome to the forum, @Caseof8 -- and thanks for the kind words about 1Password. We're happy and proud to have been a part of your digital life for so long. :)

I do wish you'd have come to us with the sync issue before opening the 1Password Families account, because it's impossible for me to say what ought to be done, since I don't know what you did in regard to moving the data from your local (Primary) vault(s) into the 1Password Families Private vault. Did you transfer the data from one device's Primary into Private, and then just sign into your account on the other device? Did you try moving items from each device into your account's Private vault? Something else?