Locked out

newcoyote
newcoyote
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years on several iPhone with no issues accessing or transferring to upgraded phones. Several months ago there was an update I presume was to be compatible with the current iOS. I did not occur to me that there was any procedure required to go from one version of the app to the next. I update countless apps with no thought. When the original app is tapped, I get the error pop up message "1Password" needs to be updated. The developer of this app needs to update it to work with iOS11. So I just updated. Now when I tap on the new app icon the app opens and asks for my master password. Master password? Huh? What master password? The only one I know of is the one I used for the old app but when I try that it fails. I am positive I am entering that as I would have before. I tried searching how to address this issue but could not find my specific circumstance and what I did find was absurdly complicated. I threw my hands up and gave up. ALL my passwords are now hidden and they certainly are not in my head. Please help. I have an iPhone 7 Plus with iOS 11.2.6 I have no way to find out what version of either app is because I'm utterly locked out of course.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:locked out

Comments

• newcoyote
    newcoyote
    Community Member

I see the sticky now after I have posted. I'm not sure if that is what I read before but it looks familiar. I know I did not follow any migration procedures because of the above mentioned. Does that mean I'm screwed for good?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

Now when I tap on the new app icon the app opens and asks for my master password. Master password? Huh? What master password? The only one I know of is the one I used for the old app but when I try that it fails. I am positive I am entering that as I would have before.