Upgrading to 7; can't access Primary vault

xiamenese
xiamenese
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years now, on all my computers, my iPhone and my iPad. My "Primary" vault, is the one that has been built up over all those years through all the upgrades. It is stored on Dropbox. A couple of years ago, I converted to a 1Password for Families and set up appropriate personal vaults for myself and my wife and a shared vault. However, neither my Personal vault, nor the Shared vault contain all the data in my Primary vault.

Although 1Password on my 13" MBP and our iMac provided the opportunity to upgrade to v. 7, the upgrade notice never appeared on My 17" MBP (running MacOS 10.13.4, like the 13"), but I found I could download it from your website and install it that way. However, when I opened it, it would only allow me to login to our family vaults, not to my primary vault on Dropbox. This means I don't have access on the 17" MBP to important data held in the Primary vault.

How can I reset 1Password 7 on the 17" MBP so that it accesses the Primary vault?

Thank you.
Mark

1Password Version: 7.02
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: MacOS 10.13.4
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Corey_C
    Corey_C
    Community Member

Hi @xiamenese

You can re-enable standalone vaults in 1Password 7 by checking the "Local Vaults" option in the Advanced section of 1Password's settings. Although what I'm concerned about is this situation as a whole. All of your data "should" be in your Personal vault. As a 1Password membership user, you shouldn't be using a Primary vault at all. Is there a particular reason why everything isn't in your Personal (or Shared) vault or was it just never moved there?

• xiamenese
    xiamenese
    Community Member

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I'm not using that machine at the moment, but will check next time I boot it up. I had a quick look at the advanced settings, but didn't spot anything that seemed relevant at the time.