Is there anything about license/Dropbox that precludes secret key?

Options
jbs
jbs
Community Member

I upgraded to 1PW7 mostly because I sign lots of clients up for 1PW (I'm an IT consultant) and I wanted to be able to show them a more accurate example of what they'd see when they use it. That said, about half my clients do prefer the license/Dropbox approach as opposed to monthly membership. I find the secret key approach very clever from a security perspective and I'm curious . . . is there a reason it only exists in the membership model? If not, is there any plan to implement it in the standalone license version? If I understand correctly, that would make the encrypted file on Dropbox significantly more secure in the case of someone accessing the Dropbox file. Again if I understand correctly today the local opvault file and/or Dropbox file are only as strong as the complexity of the master password whereas with the secret key then taking that file to a new device (where the secret key hasn't already been entered) makes the file MUCH harder to brute force. Am I understanding that correctly?

Thanks for all the work that went into v7. It looks and works great!

1Password Version: 7.0.558
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Win 7
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@jbs: Great question, and I don't recall seeing it asked before. Typically we get questions about two-factor authentication, but of course local vaults have no server component for authentication. There are a few parts to this, so I'll try to break it down:

I find the secret key approach very clever from a security perspective and I'm curious . . . is there a reason it only exists in the membership model?