Changing and Custom Categories!!!

I have been reading the discussion boards, and the hope and prayer of changing categories (and creating new ones) has been loosely dismissed "as a design issue", and not possible. @brenty has been discussing it since 2014 on a variety of posts, I am hoping he may be able to chime in here.

I have been a -mostly- satisfied customer of 1Password for about 3 years now. I am a software developer, system administrator, and cyber security engineer, and have been involved with IT related issues for over 20 years. I understand the back end app designs, and how things are, I can appreciate this perhaps more than anyone. However, for features like this, there are a ton of options out there that can help the customers. Here are a couple off the top of my head:
- A separate mini-app or plugin that does the conversion. Existing architecture not affected
- Automated script of some sort to do the copy and past feature behind the scenes, existing architecture not affected.
- Revisit the implementation, and start a road map to work this into the architecture.

That being said, customers (especially new ones) have been clamoring for this for upwards of 4 years now. I regularly am asked about a good password app, and I have been recommending 1Password. However, there are a lot of competitors in this space, and I am seriously considering taking my business elsewhere because of this!

Are there any plans to address this, or are we writing this off as not possible?

Thank you!

1Password Version: 6.8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Andriod, iOS and WinOS
Sync Type: Cloud

Comments

• MikeT
    edited July 2018

Hi @schaput69,

Thanks for writing in.