Invalid Login Information

Options
biensur
biensur
Community Member
edited July 2018 in Mac

I can't use 1Password for Mac. This is my first time using a 1Password account, previously using Dropbox. So I set up a family account, created my user, downloaded my emergency kit PDF. I installed the new version on the Mac (7.0.7) and setup both the 1Password account and my Dropbox account. Then I moved all my passwords from Dropbox to 1Password. I found out that I can't simply delete a vault so I had to reset 1Password using the help menu. After I did that, I saw the setup screen again. I clicked "1Password" and it says "we found 1 account on your mac" which is strange because I just reset all data. I click "add" and it asks for my master password, doesn't work. I clicked "sign in with a different account" and added my same account using the QR code, still doesn't accept my master password. All this info works on the browser so it's not my password. I changed my master password and my secret key, downloaded a new QR code, tried again. No luck. Added my wife's account, no luck. Added manually, nope. Reset 1Password again, no luck. Used AppCleaner to delete the app and all remaining files, reinstalled 1Password from their website (not Mac App Store), issue persists.

I simply can't use my account on this Mac. Not a good start to my subscription.

1Password Version: 7.0.7
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.13.6
Sync Type: 1Password

Comments

• biensur
    biensur
    Community Member
    edited July 2018
    Options

So I kept trying to troubleshoot:

• searched for hidden and system files and found files and folders not detected by AppCleaner (such as /var/ folder)
    • found iCloud sync (/Library/Mobile Documents) had 1Password 7 data, unchecked
    • Completely disabled iCloud Drive sync
    • Boot to single user mode and deleted Mobile Documents data
    • Cleared browser caches
    • etc.