Best practice for multi-family 1Password sharing

Options
noaht8um
noaht8um
Community Member

Hello,

My wife and I have been using the 1Password Families subscription for a few months now, and we love it. Now, I have been using 1Password myself since before we were married (2013ish) and I got my in-laws to use it as well. They are still on the standalone license for 1Password 6.

Just to make things complicated, I work for them full-time and my wife part-time. It's a small, family business, but we have occasion to share passwords quite frequently. I know you can invite guests to your 1Password account, but what does that give you exactly (if this is in the KB somewhere I apologize; couldn't find it)?

I know it's not really "kosher" to invite everyone to the same account, since they're a separate household, but other than teams which would be pretty pricey, I can't figure out my best option.

In summary, My wife and I are on families, my in-laws are on 1Password 6, and I want a way to setup a shared vault for all of us. They'll need to upgrade to some subscription, but I don't know what.

If it comes down to a limitation of families, that I could understand; I just want to make sure I can make an informed decision.

Thanks
Noah

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Manaburner
    Manaburner
    Community Member
    Options

Hi Noah,
    if you have some users slots free in your 1Password Family subscription, you can invite your in-laws and they can create an account.

Concerning guests vs. regular members: basically, guests don't have a private vault and are restricted to only one vault which you assign them. Here's a KB article that explains guests accounts: https://support.1password.com/guests/

Guests are fine in general, but one usability problem could be, if you want to share more than one vault with them, you have to remove them from one and add them to the other.