Upgrading from Version 4 to Version 7 has lost all my categories

smbunn
smbunn
Community Member
edited July 2018 in 1Password 7 for Windows

I have been using Version 4 for many years and have 212 passwords stored away. I use it on my home computer, work computer and mobile phone. Unfortunately I decided to upgrade to version 7 today. I paid for the new license.
When I opened my vault in Version 7 all of my categories are empty. Instead I have 212 unassigned passwords. Each password has a 'tag' that is my category. The Chrome plug in does not seem to support tags, it shows empty categories and 212 unassigned passwords which I have to spend ages scrolling through to find what I want.
Help please

1Password Version: 7
Extension Version: 7.1.567
OS Version: Windows 10
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Hi @smbunn,

Thanks for reporting this.

When you say categories, do you mean your own folders that you've created? The reason I ask is that categories are built-in template that items are created from, you can't have an item without a category.

If it is folders, then they've been converted to nested tags in 1Password 7. Look at the tags section on the sidebar of the main 1Password interface. We're upgrading folders to be nested tags in all 1Password 7 apps and it will be the only organization structure supported from now on, that's not including the multiple vaults though. Some folks have switched to using multiple vaults to organize items based on topics, like a vault for work, archival vault and a vault for family that can be shared securely with 1Password Families.

1Password mini does not yet have tags on its sidebar but it's coming in a future update.

• smbunn
    smbunn
    Community Member
    edited July 2018

I don't understand the difference. They are not called folders in 1Password 4 as far as I know.

In the Chrome add-in there does not appear to be a way to select via tag?

• MikeT
    edited July 2018

Hi @smbunn,