I'm new to the password manager and I am completely confused about a couple of things!!

acgreen95
acgreen95
Community Member

So I am thinking about doing the family plan for my wife and myself, but I'm a tad bit confused about somethings. I have sites I use (fantasy football, ESPN, things like that) and she has her own sites. We also have things we use together, like Netflix, DirectvNow, Hulu etc. Will we be able to set it up to where we can still use shared passwords for those sites, but still have our own individual passwords for the things we do separately. ALSO, can she have access to my passwords in case GOD forbid something happens to me or vice versa? I thank you in advance for the help

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Corey_C
    Corey_C
    Community Member

Hi there @acgreen95

Welcome to 1Password! You absolutely can share certain things while keeping other things separate. Each account in a Family membership is given access to two vaults upon creating their account. One of these vaults is called "Private" and the other one is called "Shared". The "Private" vault is unique to each family member. Only you can access your own Private vault and anything placed within it is completely private to you. Your wife will get her own Private vault in which she can put things that are private to her. This is where you would put your fantasy football login, for example.

The "Shared" vault, as the name indicates, is shared amongst all members of the family. Anything placed within it can be accessed, edited or added to by any member of the family. This is where you would put the Netflix, DirecTV and Hulu logins, along with anything else you want to share.