Migrating OSX vault to Private Team vault

Bassman
Bassman
Community Member

I am a newbie to the 'new' 1Password paradigm, so please bear with me....

I have had the standalone app on my Mac for several years (version 6.8.8). The App doesn't require an account - I simply stored my Vault locally.
I recently joined a Team (as secondary Admin). I had to create a 1Password account to do so.
I want to import my Mac Vault into my Team account. 2 Questions:

1. Can I import the local (Mac) vault into the Private Vault within my Team account?
  2. When the Team disbands, what happens to my account and my Private Vault? At this point, the account only exists to enable me to become a Team member. I'm worried that leaving the Team will delete my Private data.
  3. Put another way: is it best to keep my personal Vault in the app and never import it into my Team/Private vault?

thanks in advance!

1Password Version: 6.8.8
Extension Version: 4.7.0
OS Version: OSX 10.13.4
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• AdamP
    AdamP
    Community Member

Hi @Bassman,

I also use 1Password for Teams and I think I can answer this.

1. Can I import the local (Mac) vault into the Private Vault within my Team account?

Yes. After you sign into the new Teams account, your local data will be listed as a Primary vault. Open that vault to view the items, select one, multiple by ⌘-clicking each, or all items with ⌘-A, then right-click, choose Share, and then the vault you want to move or copy to (it should display both options). There's a support article with details and pictures here.

1. When the Team disbands, what happens to my account and my Private Vault?