Upgrade to 1Password 7 from 1Password 3

I haven't found the specific steps I need to take on the forum. I have been using my licensed 1Password 3 Mac since 2012 which High Sierra no longer supports. Should I backup my data and uninstall Version 3 from Mac before upgrading to a
1 Password 7 subscription?
I can import my data from the backup, correct?
Steps?

1Password Version: 3.8.20 build 31499 copyright 2006-2011Agile Bits I
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G65)
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Using licensed 1Password 3 Mac since 2012. Remove from Mac before upgrading to 1Password 7? Steps?

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited October 2018

@jmcarter99: It will be much simpler to install 1Password 7, create a new account during setup, and then import the data from your old AgileKeychain vault there directly (from File > Import > 1Password Keychain). Let me know how it goes. :)

• jmcarter99
    jmcarter99
    Community Member

Thanks for your answer, Jeremy. I'll work on installing 1Password 7 later tonight. By creating a new account I eliminate the need to first uninstall my old 1Password 3 first, correct?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@jmcarter99: Sounds good. That's correct. We want to make sure you have all your data in your account first, and then I can give you instructions to remove the old stuff. Looking forward to hearing back from you. :)

• Infomaniac
    Infomaniac
    Community Member

Where do you find the 1Password Keychain? I've done a search on my Mac and I can't find it. Have used 1Password 3.8 for years until it quit working. Purchased a new 1Password account, installed the new version, and have done everything I've read to try and bring over my old vault, without success. Following your instructions above, I've gone to File> Import > 1Password Keychain, but when it then says select file, I can't find what I need to select. HELP!

• Infomaniac