1Password.com Account Security

Penelope Pitstop
Penelope Pitstop
Community Member
edited October 2018 in Families

I'm new to 1Password Families and using 1Password.com to store my vaults, so please accept my apologies if my questions are stupid or already answered elsewhere. I just want to verify that I understand what I’m doing and taking the right steps to secure my data, and I was struggling to find the answers with searching.

As I understand it, when anyone attempts to sign into my account on 1Password.com from an unknown browser or device:

• They are required to supply the secret key as well as the master password.
  • If I have enabled two-factor authentication, they will be asked to supply a six-digit code.
  • If the login is successful, I get sent an email to advise me of a successful login from a new place.

Did I get that right?

If so:

1. What extra value does the two-factor authentication add?
  2. If I lost the phone I was using to run my authentication app and could not get access to the backup because I forgot the encryption key for it, would I still be able to access my data? If so, how?
  3. What happens with failed login attempts to my account?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@Penelope Pitstop: Oh, no way! You ask the best questions. :)

As I understand it, when anyone attempts to sign into my account on 1Password.com from an unknown browser or device:
    1) They are required to supply the secret key as well as the master password.
    2) If I have enabled two-factor authentication, they will be asked to supply a six-digit code.
    3) If the login is successful, I get sent an email to advise me of a successful login from a new place.
    Did I get that right?

You're right on. And I think that's a great way to break it down. :)

If so:
    1) What extra value does the two-factor authentication add?