Safari 12 not allowing extensions

historydoll
historydoll
Community Member

Dear AgileBits,
You have caused quite a nightmare for me. I've been using 1Password for four or five years with no problems. All of a sudden the extension disappeared. When I went to 1Password 6, I was advised to upgrade to 1Password 7. I did. But I kept getting error messages saying I had to upgrade Safari in order to use the 1Password extension, which is what I was trying to do in the first place. So I upgraded Safari to Safari 12. Extensions are disabled; in theory they can be enabled in the Develop menu, but in reality Safari won't allow me to uncheck the box. So now I have none of the several extensions on which I depend, including 1Password. I looked around, and apparently this is a general problem. WHAT NOW??

1Password Version: 7
Extension Version: none
OS Version: OS 10.13.6
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator

With Safari 12, Apple started moving to anew approach to extensions, and AgileBits have been responding to this.

You should update 1PW to 7.2.1. I believe that this is only slowly being made available in Check for Updates, but it can be downloaded directly from AgileBits. And 7.2.1 contains within it the new extension, but you may have to enable it in Preferences > Extensions.

If you had stayed on Safari 11 you will have found that the Safari extension is no longer available from AgileBits but can be downloaded from https://safari-extensions.apple.com/details/?id=com.agilebits.onepassword4-safari-2BUA8C4S2C because of Apple's changes.

Are you on a subscription or a licence? If on a sub, the upgrade from 1PW6 to 1PW7 is free, but if you have a licence it is a paid upgrade. And mostly there is no reason to use Dropbox sync if you are on a sub, as it is then all done behind the scenes through 1password.com

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni