Agile Keychain to OPVault conversion: not a smooth process

jhurwitz
jhurwitz
Community Member
edited April 2023 in 1Password 3 – 7 for Mac

This is not a question, but rather feedback on my recent Agile Keychain to OPVault migration experience.

I've been using 1Password for 5+ years, and for that entire time, have been syncing a single vault to Dropbox. Since the vault was created so long ago, it's of course an Agile Keychain file.

I never received any communications (either by email, or in-product) from 1Password telling me that this format had been deprecated, even though I see from your blog post that you've been wanting people to switch since at least 2015. Generally, it's best practice to directly ask users to migrate at least several months before a hard deprecation occurs.

Luckily for me, I read the changelog every time I updated 1Password. I'm probably an outlier in this regard -- I assume most users update without reading the changelog. In the most recent update, I happened to notice the following item:

Please note that if any vaults are syncing to an Agile Keychain, sync will be disabled upon running this beta. You'll be required to convert to an OPVault. This is Agile Keychain's official retirement. Raise a glass for Agile Keychain, it served us well for years but it's time to say goodbye.

Because of this, after updating 1Password I opened settings to check my sync settings. I was quite surprised to see that -- with no in-product warnings whatsoever -- my vault was no longer syncing to Dropbox. Again, it's best practice to directly communicate to users when something they use has been deprecated. Furthermore, it also wasn't obvious to me what I was supposed to do to re-enable sync.